The Backpack Project And The Essay

Hello, and thank you for checking out this post!

I am going to talk about a project  me and the rest of the students in my LA class took. Over the summer in my transition to the 6th grade, all students rising to this grade level took time to read a required book called Finding Someplace by Denise Lewis Patrick. It described the struggles of Teresa ‘Reesie’ Boone fighting for her, and many others’ lives against the ruthless path of hurricane Katrinas destruction, and the aftermath’s tole on her life.

At the beginning of the book, the author depicts a scene in which Reesie has to pack some belongings in her backpack to flee the city before Katrina hits. The purpose of the backpack project is to raise the question, “If I had to leave my home soon, what would I pack?” Students either drew their backpack or acquired a printed piece of paper with a backpack already on it. We would then draw what you want to pack in it. Sentimental Items? Necessities? Food? That’s all up to you.

For my backpack, I chose to pack a headphones, an iPad, a granola bar box, a charger, a plastic bag with extra shoes, and one with a change of clothes. I chose to only bring only useful things. An iPad and headphones to call family members and figure out what’s happening, a charger If I shelter or vacate to a place with an outlet so I’ll be able to call, and the rest is pretty self explanatory.

 

Here is a picture of my the backpack I drew:

The other topic I am going to wright about is who I think is the hero of the book finding someplace. Although there are many characters worthy of receiving this title (including Reesie), you’ll find out who I think is the true hero of the book in the essay I wrote in my LA class (oh, by the way, if your going to read my essay, read the book first!!)

 

I  consider Teresa ‘Reesie’ Boone to be the hero of the book Finding Someplace. In all the themes and parts of the plot, she overcame every hardship and struggle that the author, Denise Lewis Patrick, could through at her.

For my first reason, Reesie is brave. when she was stuck at Miss Martines house, caught in Katrina’s ongoing wraith, she, along with André ‘Dré’ helped Miss Martine get up onto the attic and on to the roof of her house, along with Eritrea ‘Tre,’ Dré’s wife, because the house was flooding. she also adapted to being parted with her family and the changing city of New Orleans.

As a trait of many heroes and protagonists, Reesie is ambitious. She maintained hope that she would see her family and make it out of Katrina alive, always trying to reach that goal. She also had big dreams of becoming an amazing fashion designer, which she was already very good at.

Lastly, Reesie is loving as well as caring. She tried to get her mom and dad back together (in which she succeeded), and when on the bus to the New Orleans Saints’ stadium, she handed a boy a piece of paper and some markers so he could draw.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *